View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
macp
Senior
Senior

Number of posts : 133
Registration date : 2013-01-22

PostSubject: Cambelt - your thoughts please   Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:10 pm

I inspected my cambelt today Im no expert but it looks ok what do you think ?

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Back to top Go down
TechSupport
Super user
Super user

Number of posts : 325
Registration date : 2013-01-25

PostSubject: Re: Cambelt - your thoughts please   Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:14 pm

Difficult to say from a pic, what's the tension like ?

"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass...it's about learning to dance in the rain."
Back to top Go down
macp
Senior
Senior

PostSubject: Re: Cambelt - your thoughts please   Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:26 pm

Certainly didnt feel tight maybe quarter of an inch movement at most. It looks in good order no signs of ageing.
Back to top Go down
TechSupport
Super user
Super user

PostSubject: Re: Cambelt - your thoughts please   Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:30 pm

If it looks good that's half the battle, does it have a tensioner on it ? and if so is it that in good shape to. I only ask because sometimes over the years people replace a belt and never bother with the tensioner which is equally important.

"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass...it's about learning to dance in the rain."
Back to top Go down
rhubarb
Junior
Junior

Number of posts : 50
Registration date : 2013-02-01

PostSubject: Re: Cambelt - your thoughts please   Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:26 pm

What does the inside of the belt look like? Any signs of cracking?

Personally if I get a car new to me I change the cambelt kit regardless for peace of mind Wink
Back to top Go down
http://carmechanics.proboards.com
TechSupport
Super user
Super user

PostSubject: Re: Cambelt - your thoughts please   Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:31 pm

rhubarb wrote:

Personally if I get a car new to me I change the cambelt kit regardless for peace of mind Wink