AuthorMessage
equidents
Junior
Junior

Number of posts : 16
Registration date : 2013-01-27

PostSubject: Bangers in France!   Fri Feb 01, 2013 6:34 pm

Hi all,

I think I qualify for this forum. I moved here 10 years ago. I am a Horse dentist and I have an online horse equipment site which between them and my wifes nurses pay manage to keep us, our son, 4 horses and various other animals.

I have a Ford Ranger Mk1 MY2002 bought 4 years ago with 37000 miles on it (I buy RHD cars coz French ones are 2 to 2.5 times the price. This is to pull 3 trailers. 1 for horses, 1 with stock when we do horse shows and the 3rd for cement, stone etc etc.

I also bought here a RHD ford focus 2.0 ghia MY2000 to run around doing horses teeth. I do 12000 miles + a year. The focus saves me from wearing out a low mileage expensive to replace 4x4.

I have come to the conclusion that in order to run all these things and keep my wife in the rather poor manner that she has become accustomed to I have to look after my own motors and buy carefully and keenly.

I budget 500euros a year in depreciation so the focus nearly owes me nowt.

Next car? Hmmmn! I think possibly MGZS 2.0TD or a VW based 1.9tdi Octavia, Leon, Bora maybe.

I did a little MS excel calc and reckon diesel (due to the price diff in France and the right car could save me as much as 800 euros a year which more than cancels out the depreciation and you could argue is self funding!

why the MGZS, nice handling, enough toys, cracking L series diesel and easy maintenance for the DIY er. The VW does offer a more modern chassis which makes it attractive. I do need a modern car so maybe not a banger but my version of it.

Ian aka Equidents
Back to top Go down
http://www.raidequestrian.co.uk
EasternBloc
Junior
Junior

Number of posts : 76
Registration date : 2013-01-08

PostSubject: Re: Bangers in France!   Sat Feb 02, 2013 12:20 am

Hello over there and welcome.

Wow - until now I never even thought about Horses having Dentists.