AuthorMessage
SuperShuma
Infant
Infant

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2011-08-28

PostSubject: Korean Dream   Sun Aug 28, 2011 12:10 pm

Banger newbie here,
After 4 years of owning a lovely Fiat Grande Punto Sporting T-Jet that i purchased new (9250!) 4 years and 60k trouble free miles its only trading at 3500 Sad

I had to sell it as it wasn't big enough and due to a change of jobs, new house, growing family etc. It also seemed wasted doing a 70 mile motorway slog everyday (previous job down the end of a country lane! great fun).

Anyways,
short version of my story, needed a larger car, and wanted to take depreciation out of the equation as it occured to me that the depreciation the Fiat was costing me every year was a decent week in Las Vegas! (but you all knew that!)

So after a few days on eBay, freeads i ended up having a cheeky bid on a W Reg Kia Shuma. 36k miles, some service history but overall a fairly honest car. 300 changed hands and i drove it straight to my garage, MOT'd it needed a new NSR wheel cylinder and a handbrake adjustment thus costing another 110. Only slight niggles are a rattle from the exhaust heat shield and a dodgy tyre on the front (looks like it got a flat and they have put the crummy spare on!)

So i have now covered 1500 miles and its been great except it blew a fuse on the interior blower. I am led to believe its a Mazda engine and gearbox and thus i am confident it will be fairly robust! i will be servicing it myself and doing any repairs i can.

So i am kindly requesting some tips!
The engine seems to idle high, my Punto sat at 600 revs the Kia was at 2000! i cleaned the idle control valve and it settled down to 1500?? still high but this may be normal?

spare wheel is flat Sad shall i get it repaired if its repairable or save weight and ditch in favour of a can of goo?